top of page

Lyn Bowtell is a Nine-Time Golden Guitar Winner

Lyn Bowtell is a Toyota Star Maker winner, MO Award winner, a nine-time Golden Guitar winner, a 2013 APRA Song of The Year finalist and was nominated for two Golden Guitars in the 2013 Country Music Awards for ‘Best Female Artist’ and ‘Best Alternative Album of the Year’ for ‘Secret Songs’. Lyn Bowtell is one of Australia’s finest Singer/Songwriters, possessing a powerful and evocative voice recognised by her peers as one of the best in the business.

World class online training for songwriters, singer/songwriters and artists by a cast of superstar song geniuses from Australia and Music City, USA. Never before have you had direct access to the expert minds and superstar songwriters in Australian country and the USA, all in one place and from your computer screen.

This exciting two day event will feature keynote presentations by music & song writing elite; you will hear and learn from the best in the business. Lyn Bowtell - Academy Director has been involved with The Academy as a student since its inception in 1997, but has been in the role of Artistic Director of The Academy since 2016. Since winning Toyota Starmaker in 1997, Lyn has honed her skills as a songwriter and singer which were subsequently recognised when her Country Pop trio Bella was awarded the Golden Guitar (the Australian country music industry’s highest accolade) for Best Group in 2004 and again in 2005.

Since then, Lyn has released critically acclaimed albums, winning CMAA Golden Guitars for Alternative Album of the Year in 2015 and for Vocal Collaboration of the Year in 2017, 2019 and 2020, taking her Golden Guitar tally to nine. Featuring keynote presenters, panelists, group leaders, mentors and moderators who are multiple Award winners; Golden Guitars, Grammy Awards, ARIA awards and more, including country music superstars from Australia, Joy McKean, Sara Storer, Felicity Urquhart, Lyn Bowtell, Roger Corbett, Brad Cox, Kevin Bennett, Caitlyn Shadbolt, Melanie Dyer, Allan Caswell, Mike Carr and Pete Denahy, alongside international song writing superstars from music city – USA, Kim Richey, Jerry Salley and O’Shea. Learn the secrets to a successful songwriting or singer/songwriter career with intensive insider information. Get direct access to songwriters and build your A-list of contacts for future co-writes and collaborations that will set you apart with the power of a great song. Receive a BONUS pre-event masterclass that will set you up for success over the two day event. Get a deep understanding of the craft of songwriting, learn effective co-writing practice, get better analytical and creative skills for songwriting success. Receive jam-packed materials and take part in small breakout groups featuring workshop activities with a limited number of fellow attendees and your own workshop group leader to further hone your songwriting skills and techniques.

The two day program 22 – 23 May 2021 Each day is designed to provide you with maximum information and time to breakout into smaller virtual rooms for Q&A, to make connections and drill down on the training.

The Academy is Australia’s premier music program for emerging, talented singer/songwriters/performers and instrumentalists. They offer two intensive residential courses each year for junior and senior participants. The award winning team of music professionals, mentors and industry leaders bridges the gap between your existing experience and your professional career. Since 1997 The Academy has produced many award winning and successful artists in the country music genre and beyond including: Sara Storer, The McClymonts, Amber Lawrence, Jessica Mauboy, Caitlyn Shadbolt, Lyn Bowtell, Travis Collins, Aleyce Simmonds, The Davidson Brothers, Brothers Three, Kristy List, Jedd Hughes, Judah Kelly, Daniel Thompson, Adam Eckersley, Brendon Walmsley, Luke Austen, Kylie Sackley, Travis Sinclair, Tom Curtain, Michael Muchow, John Stephan, Melody Moko, The Sunny Cowgirls, Harmony James, 8 Ball Aitken, Talia Whitman, Katie Brianna, Liam Brew, Chelsea Basham, Kaylee Bell, Tori Darke, Ashleigh Dallas, Christie Lamb, Melanie Dyer, Imogen Clark, Allison Forbes, Harry Hookey, Gretta Ziller, Michael Cole, Rachel Fahim, Homegrown, Ben Ransom, Baylou, Nathaniel O’Brien, Liam Kennedy-Clark, Jenny Mitchell, Hayley Marsten, Tania Cornish, Billy Bridge , Rebecca Lee Nye and many more. These contemporary stars of Australian music have forged viable careers in the country music industry, featuring in major talent events such as Toyota Starmaker, Australian Idol, X Factor and The Voice. Most have recording careers with national and international success and regularly chart in the country music streaming platforms playlists and album charts. Many feature in the coveted Australian Country Music Awards as Golden Guitar winners or finalists Lyn was further nominated for three Golden Guitars in the 2015 Country Music Awards for ‘Best Female Artist’, ‘Vocal Collaboration of the Year’ and ‘Best Alternative Country Album of the Year’ winning a Golden Guitar in the ‘Best Alternative Country Album of the Year’ category for ‘Heart of Sorrow’. In 2017 Lyn was nominated for seven Golden Guitars awards, five with Bennett, Bowtell & Urquhart and two for ‘Vocal Collaboration of the Year’, winning two with Bennett, Bowtell & Urquhart for ‘Best Alternative Country Album’ and ‘Group or Duo of the Year’ and one herself for ‘Vocal Collaboration of the Year’. In 2019 Lyn won her seventh Golden Guitar for ‘Vocal Collaboration of the Year’ with Bennett, Bowtell & Urquhart and the late Karl Broadie with their song ‘Every Hello’. In 2020 Lyn was nominated for 3 Golden Guitars alongside good friend Luke O’Shea for their song ‘Sing Me A Story’, winning 2 Awards in the Vocal Collaboration and Heritage Song of the Year categories.


bottom of page