top of page

Ricci Marks Awards 2023

We were honoured to broadcast live at the Ricci Marks Awards Night 2023 on Tuesday night 13th June 2023 which was held at Cargo Hall, South Wharf to celebrate the achievements of young people making change in their communities.

The Ricci Marks Award recognises the individual achievements and aspirations of young (16-25) Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in training, education, arts, sports, culture and community leadership.

The Ricci Marks Award originated in 1997 as the Aboriginal Young Achievers Award. In 2004, the Award was named in honour of Ricci Marks.

Ricci Marks was a proud Wotjobaluk man from Halls Gap and Aboriginal Young Achievers Award recipient in 2000 who, in his short life, made an outstanding contribution to his community.

Tonight was lead with a welcome to country by Wurundjeri Elder Aunty Diane Kerr following words by Ricci Marks mum, Aunty Annita Marks and Aunty Lynette Marks.

The MC for the night was Tahlia Biggs panelists for the Fireside chat panel discussion were Jessica Bennett, Marrissa Williamson and DJ Kidd Benny. Dancers and Marks family members the Sunset Dancers did a performance.

Gabrielle Williams MP Minister for Treaty and First Peoples, Annita Marks and judge Dani Gower presented the awards.

Congratulations To the two recipients of the Ricci Marks Awards 2023.

Yemurraki Egan Jayde Couzens

Congratulations To the three Rising Star Recipients 2023.

Cobain Tipiloura Elijah Aaron Brown Isaac Muller

What an amazing night to see the winners with their family members, friends colleagues and community members come together and celebrate the achievements of these amazing young people.

DJ Kidd Benny was the DJ for the night playing some deadly tunes. Thank you to the staff State Relations Department of Premier and Cabinet, Cargo Hall and to everyone to attended.


bottom of page